Hope Highlands faculty, students win yearbook award


On Friday morning, Hope Highlands Middle School’s yearbook faculty advisor Lisa Erb and her yearbook students were honored by representatives from Lifetouch, the company through which their yearbook is created, for their 2017-18 school yearbook. At a special breakfast for the students, Lifetouch sales manager Carolyn Panos congratulated the students on the Lifetouch award and told them that the Distinguished Merit Award in the Lifetouch Yearbook Showcase Contest encompassed many parts of the yearbook, including theme, theme development, writing, photography, detail, layout, composition, creativity and design.

She also told the students that their yearbook will be on display both online and at the national meeting in Minnesota during the New Year.

Principal Alex Kanelos congratulated the staff and students for their hard work and the honor they’ve received.

Erb also congratulated her students on their hard work, but also noted that it’s also a credit to the school population as a whole, who are always willing to have their photos taken for the yearbook, allowing the yearbook staff to have plenty to work with when it comes time to lay out the book itself. “It really does make a difference,” Erb said. “It might be unusual at this age for them to be so willing.”

Beginning in January, the staff will start work on the current school year’s book, and at this time a poetry contest is in full swing, which coordinates with the theme of this year’s book, “Shine Bright,” and the winner will receive a free yearbook. The students on the year’s staff include Allie Soria, Emma Lancellotta, Francesca Paola, Hailey Davis, Maddie Strumar, Mallory Needham, Natalia Awwad, Olivia Patriarca, Zachary Leone, Avery Marriott, Marco Ialongo (past year), and Taylor Ferraro (past year). Lacellotta, Patriarca and Davis are returning staff members from last year.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment