A public hearing for comment on a proposed Cranston redistricting map, Scenario A3, will be held by the Cranston Redistricting Commission, which will meet jointly with the Cranston Board of Canvassers on Tuesday, March 1, at 6:30 p.m. in Council Chambers, Third Floor at Cranston City Hall, 869 Park Ave., Cranston, RI 02910-2786. The meeting will also be broadcast live via Zoom; a meeting access link can be found via the City website at Public testimony will be accepted both in-person and online via Zoom. The hearing will allow members of the public to review and provide feedback on a proposed map of Cranston wards that is under final consideration by the Redistricting Commission to be forwarded to the City Council for the Council’s review and possible adoption. An interactive, GIS web version and PDF version of the draft map, in addition to all associated data, is available for public review and download at the Cranston Redistricting Map Gallery on the Redistricting webpage, which can be found under the Canvassing Authority webpage on the City of Cranston website, Additional public comment on the draft map, or comment related to any aspect of the redistricting process, may also be submitted via email at Map Scenario A3 contains identical ward lines to the previously posted map, Scenario A1, which was presented for public comment at a previous Redistricting Commission hearing on October 6, 2021; no further ward boundary changes have been made to the map. Scenario A3 reflects final state precinct lines as enacted by the General Assembly on Feb. 15, 2022.

The Cranston Redistricting Commission is an advisory committee created by the Cranston City Council on March 22, 2021, to draft a redistricting plan for the six wards of the city. The Commission operates from the office of the Cranston Board of Canvassers. Office hours are Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. in Room 100, Cranston City Hall, 869 Park Ave., Cranston, RI 02910-2786. Phone: 401-780-3128.

Cranston Redistricting Commission, Randall A. Jackvony, Chairperson; Gary J. Vierra and Quilcia I. Moronta, Members.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here